Do it now!

Happy new year everybody! I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and a wonderful New Year’s Eve. Moments to share with loved ones, whether they are your family, friends or maybe just your pet and a good book. The end of one year and the beginning of a new one also make those days a good time for reflection, gratefulness and probably new plans or resolutions.

Being a fan of lists, I don’t really need the start of a new year to write down what I’d like to change or achieve the upcoming months. Over the years many books, documentaries and articles helped me to turn feelings or thoughts into concrete ideas, plans and action points. Of course I’ll never be perfect and there will always be new things to learn.
But writing down the things I’d like to change or maybe just have to remember, will help me to stay focused and really achieve that greater goal I set for myself. Especially at moments when life can be overwhelming or disappointing, having a greater goal to look forward to can just be enough to keep going.

Like Gretchen Rubin points out in The Happiness Project (find the book review here), every person’s list will look differently and can sometimes even be contradictory. But reading other people’s insights and resolutions might also help to appoint your own personal goals. Gretchen’s book influenced my list and so might mine change yours. Therefore I’ll share with you my own commandments, hoping they’ll inspire you to be the most wonderful version of yourself and make the most of this new year that has just started!

My commandments for 2017 and after…

  • be Sandra : accept who I am and what I like doing
  • stop thinking, start doing & do it now
  • work smart : a small bit every day leads to big things in the long run (10 000 hours)
  • enjoy the process : don’t just focus on the results
  • dare to make mistakes
  • enjoy the here & now : everything changes constantly
  • be more mindful : make time for reflection, yoga & going for walks
  • choose friends well : we are the summation of the 5 people we spend most of our time with
  • have faith : things will go the way they should go
  • love : everything, always & everywhere

Of course I’m very curious what your list looks like and hope you’ll feel free to share it with me as well!

Geef een reactie

